“Fast Food”

Yesterday my post was all about the food you make when you have time stretching out in front of you to cook in. And normally, I do, and I love to spend ages cooking. Sometimes, though, you need a little convenience food.

Like today, for example. My family are all at the cinema right now and so I had to have food on the table before they left the house, so no time to, say, stand for an hour over a pot of dhal.

So here’s what we had:

Super-Fast Super-Awesome Stir Fry

Serves 4

  • 1tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 inch of ginger, shredded
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1 chilli (or to your taste)
  • 1 pak choi – this is great because it takes no time at all to chop and cook, just slice up the whole thing at once
  • mushrooms
  • 1 courgette
  • the rest of the veggies in your fridge you need to use up
  • vegan protein – beans, tofu, etc (I used this)
  • soy sauce!
  • 4 servings wholewheat noodles (my favourite)

  1. Heat the lemon juice in a wok for a short time (short or it will burn. No more than half a minute!). Stir in the chilli, garlic and ginger.
  2. Stir in everything else except the noodles and soy sauce. Stir fry for 10 mins (ish).
  3. Drop the noodles into a pan of boiling water. Mine only take 2 minutes, so do it near the end if yours are similar.
  4. Stir in the noodles and the soy sauce.
  5. Serve!

What makes this one special is the lemon juice and the ginger, and the fact that it’s so damn quick! I had it on the table in under 20 mins and I had time to make an apple and raspberry crumble alongside it (which we’ll be having when everyone’s back from the cinema) plus my home-made granola. (Post on granola pending).

I wanna thank everyone who’s been commenting on my blog by the way. It’s awesome, every comment makes me soo happy! 🙂 So keep it up, if you like it.

Watch out for another post later.

Question of the day – what’s your favourite fast food? How long do you normally spend cooking your main meal?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to “Fast Food”

  1. Alice says:

    Enjoy the fact that I’m leaving you a comment, even though I have very little to say. I do intend to say something of some value at some point but not quite yet, it seems.
    xxx

  2. Sounds awesome- we couldn’t possibly have this as a vegetarian/vegan option alongside the duck at ‘Oscar Night: The Wildest Party Ever!’, could we? I would totally eat this (I think my mother makes some slight variation of this from time to time :D)

    Favourite fast food is whatever I can make in the microwave without setting fire to it 😛

    -x

    • Yes indeed, I think it would work well with pancakes actually. It’s SO simple too.
      Microwave fast food is good… I prefer food I’ve pre-prepared and frozen though, ’cause then it’s all nutritional and yummy :p

      See you at 2.45, probably before you read this 😉
      xo

  3. My favourite fast food is McDonald’s… 😀
    X

Leave a Reply

